Love yourself

According to Buddhism, there are four core elements of true love. Which element is the most important for you?


Maitri means love kindness and benevolence. It is the ability to bring joy and happiness to the person you love and to treat yourself with the same kindness and love. When you love someone, you have to be there for them. The focus in true love should be about bringing happiness to yourself and the person you love.


The second element of true love is karuna i.e. compassion. Compassion is the desire and ability of easing the pain of the person you love. There is a difference between desire and ability. We desire a lot of things, but ability means the strength and courage to perform that action.


Mudita, the third element, is joy. If the person who loves you, don’t brings you joy then it means that it is not true love. True love is joy and joy in love is very important.


The final element of true love is upeksha which means equanimity or freedom. Love is not about constraints and restrictions. The aim of true love is to make the person feel free.


If the person who claims to love you isn’t bringing you any joy, keep you restricted and don’t understand your pain then it is not love. You need to love yourself first and always keep yourself a priority. Don’t shed tears for those who takes you for granted.

6 thoughts on “Love yourself

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s